Community school term dates

The 2023/24 term and holiday dates below are for community schools only. For other schools you will need to check their website.

Autumn Term 2023 (Total days: 74)

Monday 04 September 2023 to Thursday 21 December 2023

Half Term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October 2023

Christmas Holiday: Friday 22 December 2023 to Friday 05 January 2024

Bank holidays: Monday 25 December 2023,  Tuesday 26 December 2023 &  Monday 01 January 2024

Spring Term 2024 (Total days: 54)

Monday 08 January 2024 to Thursday 29 March 2024

Half Term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February 2024

Easter Holiday Friday 29 March 2024 to Friday 12 April 2024

Bank holidays: Friday 29 March 2024 and Monday 01 April 2024

Summer Term 2024 (Total days: 70)

Monday 15 April 2024 to Monday 29 July 2024

Half Term: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May 2024

Bank holidays: Monday 06 May 2024 and Monday 27 May 2024

Please note schools are only required to open for 195 days of the 198 days set.

The total of 198 days are divided as follows:

  • 190 Days = Pupil Days
  • 5 Days = INSET Days (Teacher Training Days)
  • 3 Days = Closure to observe religious festivals other than Christmas and Easter (optional).

Schools not taking up this option should finish the school year earlier on Wednesday 24 July 2024.