What elections can I vote in?

Local elections

The Brent Council Local Elections will take place on Thursday 5 May 2022. Voters in the borough will choose who they want to represent them as their ward councillors.

Changes to wards and number of councillors

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has undertaken a review of the electoral wards of Brent and made the following recommendations:

Brent will be represented by 57 ward councillors, six fewer than under the current arrangements
Brent will have 22 wards, one more than under the current arrangements

Please see the table below with the names of the wards and the number of councillors for each of the wards from May 2022:

Ward Number of councillors
Alperton 3
Barnhill 2
Brondesbury Park 2
Cricklewood & Mapesbury 2
Dollis Hill 3
Harlesden & Kensal Green 3
Kenton 3
Kilburn 3
Kingsbury 2
Northwick Park 2
Preston 2
Queens Park 3
Queensbury 3
Roundwood 3
Stonebridge 3
Sudbury 2
Tokyngton 2
Welsh Harp 3
Wembley Central 3
Wembley Hill 3
Wembley Park 2
Willesden 3


When are the next local elections?

The last local elections took place in 2018 and and the next Local Elections will take place on 5 May 2022.

By-elections can take place at any time to fill a vacancy caused by a councillor resigning, dying or becoming disqualified from office.

Who can vote in local elections?

You can vote in local elections if you're:

  • a British citizen - excluding overseas electors
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • from Ireland
  • a European Union citizen.