UK Parliamentary Election 2019

There has been a UK Parliamentary Election called to take place on Thursday 12 December 2019.

There are 3 Members of Parliament (MPs) to be elected to represent Brent's constituencies:

  • Brent Central
  • Brent North
  • Hampstead and Kilburn (which extends into Camden)

Election notices

Key Dates 

Date and hours of Poll

Thursday 12 December 2019 from 7am to 10pm

Postal and Proxy Votes

The deadline for applying for a postal vote has now closed.

In limited circumstances you may be eligible to apply for an emergency proxy.

 Date and timePostal and Proxy Votes 
6 December 
  • First date that electors can apply for replacement lost postal votes
Thursday 12 December 5pm
  • deadline for replacement postal votes
Thursday 12 December 5pm
  • deadline for emergency proxy applications
Thursday 12 December 10pm
  • deadline to receive completed postal votes


Poll Cards

Poll cards will be sent out to all eligible citizens in advance of the election. If you do not receive a poll card it could be that you are not registered or you are not entitled to be registered due to your nationality. You can contact us to check if you are registered.

You do not need your poll card to enable you to vote as long as you are registered.

Registering to vote

Please note that the deadline to register to vote for the election on 12 December has now closed.

Who can vote in UK Parliamentary Elections?

You can vote in UK Parliamentary Elections if you are:

  • a British citizen
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • from Ireland

Please note: EU citizens (who are not Citizens of the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus or Malta) are not able to vote in UK Parliament elections.


Easy read guide