How the council is organised

Political make-up

Brent's political make-up

We have 63 councillors (also known as members) who are elected across 21 wards.

The people who stand for election as councillors may belong to one of the national political parties or to a local political party, or they may be completely independent of a political party.

The current political make-up of Brent is:

  • Labour: 60 elected members
  • Conservatives: 3 elected members 


Click map to view larger version

The council has a Leader who comes from the majority party. The Leader of the council is Cllr Muhammed Butt.

The Leader is responsible for forming a Cabinet which is responsible for implementing the council's policies.

The members also choose a Mayor for Brent each year who promotes Brent locally, nationally and internationally. The current Mayor of Brent is Cllr Arshad Mahmood.

Who does what

What councillors do

Your councillors are responsible for making sure that the services that the council provides meet the needs of residents and those who work in Brent.

They do this by setting the overall policies and strategies for the council and by monitoring the way in which these are implemented.

The Full Council of 63 councillors is responsible for agreeing the main policies and priorities for all services, including the council's budget. They meet eight times a year and meetings are open to the public.

What council officers do

Council officers are the people who work for the council and who are paid to deliver the services agreed by councillors.

Chief officers help councillors to develop policies and objectives but their main role is to provide the public with the highest possible standards of service within the money that the councillors make available.

Our departments

Council departments

In the structure of the council, after the elected representatives, the council is organised into departments.

These are:

  • Chief Executive’s Department which drives the strategy, planning and performance for the whole council, making sure that we’re all pulling in the same direction
  • Children and Young People Department has the responsibility for improving outcomes for all Brent's children, particularly the most vulnerable. 
  • Community Wellbeing Department brings together adult social care, housing, public health and cultural services, and will contribute to improving health and well-being outcomes for our residents, particularly better targeting resources towards support for vulnerable people.
  • Regeneration, Growth and Environmental Services Department brings together all regeneration, environmental infrastructure services, public realm and regulatory services, as well as our work on employment and skills.
  • Resources Department comprises the Finance, Legal, HR, Digital Services (excluding Information Governance) Customer Services, Facilities Management, Property, and Commercial Services.