The Cabinet

General information

The Cabinet is made up of the Leader of the Council and other senior councillors (Cabinet members).

The Cabinet provides political leadership and strategic direction for the council, both within individual portfolio responsibilities and as part of their corporate responsibilities.

They take an active approach to ensuring that decisions made by the council are informed both politically and administratively and the council's executive decisions are collective and made by the cabinet.

Cabinet members are each democratically accountable to the public and are the public face of the council. As such they act as ambassadors for the council's work in improving Brent.



Cllr Muhammed Butt- Leader of the council

  • Oversight of all major policy
  • Resources –(Legal/Property) 
  • Executive and Member services
  • Mayor’s Development Corporation (MDC)
  • West London Alliance (WLA)
  • Strategic relationships with business
  • Communications

Cllr Margaret McLennan - Deputy Leader of the Council

  • Finance 
  • Community planning, partnership 
  • Performance 
  • Procurement 
  • FOIs 
  • ICT
  • Digital by design
  • Voluntary sector
  • HR/Equalities
  • Customer Services
  • Civic Enterprise

Cllr Shama Tatler - Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Growth, Employment and Skills

  • Development policy
  • Planning Policy
  • Physical regeneration
  • Skills 
  • Business growth and support 
  • Employment growth
  • LLW

Cllr Harbi Farah - Cabinet Member for Housing and Welfare Reform

  • Housing policy
  • Private sector housing
  • Housing management
  • Landlord licensing
  • BHP and other housing providers
  • Welfare reform

Cllr Krupesh Hirani - Cabinet Member for Community Wellbeing

  • Adult Social Care (ASC)
  • Public Health
  • Sports & Leisure
  • Health and social care integration 
  • Health and Wellbeing Board (HWBB)  

Cllr Mili Patel - Cabinet Member for Children and Young People

  • Schools
  • Early years
  • Children social care
  • Youth services

Cllr Eleanor Southwood - Cabinet Member for Environment

  • Public Realm
  • Environmental enhancement
  • Carbon reduction /sustainability
  • Transport and transportation
  • Parking
  • Street lighting
  • Highways

Cllr Tom Miller - Cabinet Member for Stronger Communities

  • Community Cohesion, Safety & Resilience
  • Licensing &Trading standards
  • Registration & nationality
  • Building Control &Environmental Health
  • Prevent
  • Libraries and Culture

The Opposition

Brent Conservative Group

Group Leader: Cllr John Warren

Deputy Leader: Cllr Carol Shaw