Community school term dates

The 2020/21 term and holiday dates below are for community schools only. For other schools you will need to check their website.

Autumn Term 2020 (Total days: 73)

Wednesday 2 September 2020 to Friday 18 December 2020

Half Term: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020

Christmas Holiday: Monday 21 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021

Bank holidays: Friday, 25 December 2020, Monday, 28 December 2020 and Friday 1 January 2021

Spring Term 2021 (Total days: 58)

Monday 4 January 2021 to Wednesday 31 March 2021

Half Term: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021

Easter Holiday Thursday 1 April to Friday 16 April 2021

Bank holidays: Friday 2 April 2021 and Monday 5 April 2021

Summer Term 2021 (Total days: 67)

Monday 19 April 2021 to Wednesday 28 July 2021

Half Term: Monday 31 May 2021 to Friday 4 June 2021

Bank holidays: Monday 3 May 2021 and Monday 31 May 2021

Please note schools are only required to open for 195 days of the 198 days set.

The total of 198 days are divided as follows:

  • 190 Days = Pupil Days
  • 5 Days = INSET Days (Teacher Training Days)
  • 3 Days = Closure to observe religious festivals other than Christmas and Easter (optional).

Schools not taking up this option should finish the school year earlier on Friday 23 July 2021.