European elections

London is a constituency of the European Parliament.

Every 5 years, 8 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) are elected to represent the city.

When are the next European elections?

Elections for the European Parliament take place every five years. The last European elections took place on 23 May 2019. 

You can find who your MEPs are on the European Parliament website.

By-elections can take place at any time to fill a vacancy caused by a MEP resigning, dying or becoming disqualified from office.

Who can vote in European elections?

You can vote in European elections if you’re:

  • a British citizen
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • from Ireland
  • a European Union citizen - If you are an EU citizen living in the UK and want to vote in the European Parliament elections this May, please contact the electoral authority in the EU country where you are a citizen. View full eligibility list. 

Your voting rights

Citizens of the European Union (not including the UK, Ireland, Cyprus and Malta) have the option to vote either in their home country or in the UK.

Before every European election we will send you a declaration to enable you to vote in the UK should you want to do this.

Voting in the UK means that you will not be able to vote in your home country.