UK Parliament

UK Parliamentary Elections

UK general elections take place every 5 years and there are 3 Members of Parliament (MPs) elected to represent Brent's constituencies:

  • Brent Central
  • Brent North
  • Hampstead and Kilburn (which extends into Camden).

When is the next Parliamentary Election?

The next Parliamentary election is due to be held on Thursday 2 May 2024 in line with the Fixed-Term Parliaments Act.

By-elections can take place at any time to fill a vacancy caused by an MP resigning, dying or becoming disqualified from office.

Who can vote in general elections?

You can vote in general elections if you are:

  • a British citizen
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • from Ireland.

Please note: EU citizens (who are not Citizens of the Republic of Ireland, Cyprus or Malta) are not able to vote in UK Parliament elections.